Archive | 3:17 pm

Garcia borracho beans

7 Feb

Making beans from scratch can be very intimidating for some. It was something I had to learn quickly after marrying my husband. His mom, who is originally from Mexico, makes these unbelievable borracho beans. They take a while..a few hours, but they are a show stopper when you serve them with fajitas, enchiladas or any other Mexican dish.

3-4 cups dry pinto beans (sift thru them and get any small rocks out)
Wash them off, then put them in large pot, just barely covered with water, turn on high. DO NOT ADD SALT!! This will make them hard.
Add 1 onion, (roughly chopped) and 2 garlic cloves.  I’ve also used a green bell pepper as well. (extra flavor) Can of diced tomatoes (you can also do a can of Rotel if you want to spice them up) Last night it was a can of diced tomatoes and then I cut up a jalapeno as well (minus the seeds)

Once the beans begin to boil, turn way down (like low-medium) the water starts going quickly. I start adding chicken/beef/veggie broth (whatever you have available) at this point. Keep adding until the beans are the consistency you would like them.

I let the simmering go on for a few hours, checking every so often and adding broth when it start looking low.

Once they are close to soft, I add bacon (3-4 strips) I’ve also added chorizo. You can really use anything you have handy. Once I added some smoked ham I had in freezer from Easter and it turned out AWESOME! If you do the chorizo, make sure you brown it first (don’t add raw)

Add the meat and let simmer some more.

Once they are soft you can turn them off and let cool. Add your salt now. I also add cilantro…gives a great flavor.

Say Ahhhhhhh…..

7 Feb

I recently made the biannual trip to the dentist with my kiddos.  I always think it’s funny that  a few days before their appointments they are very aggressive teeth brushers. They are sure not to skip a brushing because it’s important they not get a bad grade at the dentist’s office. I’m glad they are having a positive dentist experience at such a young age and I think that’s largely due to who I introduced them to initially.

Dr. Stephen Brandt

A friend of mine recommended Dr. Stephen Brandt when we first PCS’d here. His office is located in Killeen, close to the mall. The waiting room is a child’s dream with tropical fish tanks, televisions and video games ( a big hit with my 7-year-old)  Once called inside, the kiddos are greeted by sweet, smiling dental assistants who immediately take them to a large bin filled with toothbrushes in every color imaginable. The assistants do the  majority of the work… cleaning and entertaining, then Dr. Brandt comes in. He’s very friendly with the parents and the kiddos and has a professional, yet approachable bed-side manner.

Each visit, the kids get a “report card” with a grade. This report card makes a big impact in our home. It goes on our fridge, it’s talked about at dinner and it’s remembered until their next visit, six months later. At the end of the appointment, the kiddos get to choose another prize (balloon, pencil, silly band, etc…) and if they are cavity-free, get their name put on a board for a monthly prize drawing which can include dinner out for the family.

I will say we have had no dental issues to date (knock on wood), so I don’t have much information on Dr. Brandt other than doing a thorough cleaning job. I do know the same friend who recommended Dr. Brandt, did so because her daughter had a procedure done that required sedation dentistry. She was very pleased with the experience they had.